Features / Other

My Must-Have Accessory?


Scarves. Vintage, paisley, tartan, chiffon. You name it, I own one. Over my few years of fashion addiction, I have developed an unhealthy obsession with buying scarves. 

Looking back I believe this stemmed from my lack of confidence when it came to buying clothes. The scarf is a safe option but at the same time can make a fashion statement. I remember in my early teens spending hours in H&M choosing a scarf and then wearing it endlessly for weeks afterwards, until a newer, more appealing one caught my eye.

Years later when I discovered the beauty of vintage this only fuelled the scarf addiction. Each fair or shop I went to I would come out with a new – I use the term ‘new’ loosely – neck accessory. Some are paisley, some silk, some wool, some I admit, are more-or-less the same but never the less over the years I have grown quite a collection. 

One thing that I love about scarves is how they can make an outfit. We all have those mornings when we haven’t got time to plan the perfect outfit and just throw on a pair of jeans, these are the mornings when the scarf is of vital importance. Throw on a statement scarf on your way out the door and your outfit is transformed.

 

Of course then there’s the winter when the scarf has a practical purpose. To keep you warm and look stylish simulataniously. Choosing a good winter scarf is a decision which you should not make carelessly and I’m still on the hunt for that perfect one.

 

My current favourite is a blue tartan wool scarf I found at a vintage fair a couple of weeks ago, it’s warm and adds a bit of depth to your look.

 

I also have my all-time treasures. A rich coloured, floral cotton one which I also found at a vintage fair and spices up any dull outfit and a summery floral one from Warehouse which I got in the sale. Along with many more vintage silk ones which can multitask and accessorize bags as well.

 

Don’t get me wrong though the collection will not end here. I’ve currently got my eye on an grey ombre woollen scarf from H&M, yes old habits die hard. Perhaps this will be my perfect winter scarf, until next week anyway.

Leave a comment